Here it is Christmas…

This is the bad boy that started them all.

Today I present to you the first holiday mix I made from 2006.  It may be my favorite of the mixes.  This was the year I decided to give into Christmas and the winter season.  Instead of being grumpy all the time and hating on Christmas songs everywhere I went, I decided to find my own style of music and found the wonder in songs that aren’t necessarily “holiday” music, but have that great wintery feeling to them.  I also spent hours digging through my record collection searching for songs with certain words in the title.  I have such a variety of records that sometimes I don’t even know what is on them, I just bought them for the cover (see Harmonicats).  I miss doing such things.  I now go through the same practice, but on the computer via Google.  It’s not quite the same feeling.

It should also be said that, although I’m agnostic, songs about God/Jesus fascinate and crack me up.

I’m also a big lover of Doris Day, so just deal with it.

Anyways, you can get the playlist here (they may not transfer into iTunes in the right order – I don’t know why).  I hope you enjoy.

I also found some videos for a couple of the songs.  Enjoy…

Tracklist for Holiday 2006:

  1. Here It Is Christmas - Red Sovine
  2. Merry Christmas You Suckers - Paddy Roberts
  3. A Hazy Shade of Winter - Simon and Garfunkel
  4. Here Comes Santa Claus - Doris Day
  5. Cold, Cold Winter - The Pixies Three
  6. Step Into Christmas - The Wedding Present
  7. Rain, Sleet, Snow - Paul Revere And The Raiders Feat. Mark Lindsay
  8. Dead By X'mas - Hanoi Rocks
  9. Peppermint Twist - Joey Dee & The Starliters
  10. Ocho Kandelikas - Hip Hop Hoodios
  11. Santa Claus is Going Straight To The Ghetto - Snoop Dogg
  12. Button Up Your Overcoat - Mindy Carson
  13. Baby, It's Cold Outside - Johnny Mercer and Margaret Whiting
  14. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm - Frank Sinatra
  15. Last Christmas (I Gave You My Heart) - Wham
  16. What Color is God's Skin? - Colwells & Chorus
  17. Dropkick Me, Jesus - Bobby Bare
  18. Salvation - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
  19. Winter - The Rolling Stones
  20. Angel In The Snow - Elliott Smith
  21. White Christmas - Mark Kozelek
  22. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas - Doris Day
  23. Little Drummer Boy - Marlene Dietrich
  24. 7 O'Clock New/Silent Night - Simon & Garfunkel
Tagged , ,

One thought on “Here it is Christmas…

  1. Kevin says:

    A startling number of revered artists have covered Last Christmas. For example, Hillary Duff and Taylor Swift.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

