Wintry Mix

Maybe it’s that I attended my first holiday party of the season last night, or maybe it’s that it is finally starting to get really cold here in New York.  Maybe it’s just because I’ve been listening to holiday music at work for 3 days straight now, but I’m really getting into Christmas right about now.  I wake up with Jingle Bells in my head.  (Seriously, I do.  It scares me a little)

I used to be the queen of the holiday mix cd.  I started doing them in 2006, and did one every year until 2008.  After that I started slipping on the mixes.  Between money issues and losing beloved pets, I put off doing the mixes till it was just too late to get anything done.

Well, I’m back!  While I put together a new mix for this year, I thought I would do a couple of posts featuring my old mixes.  Unfortunately, my computer crashed not too long ago so I lost all the awesome art work that I did for them, but I still have the music.  Click this link for my 2007 mix (tracklist is at the bottom of the page).

Now, I know this is a blog about what I’m watching. Listening to this old mix got me curious to see if I could find videos to any of these songs.  Here are a few highlights.

Check out the hair!!

My cat really liked this video. He kept pawing the screen.

Sad, it’s all just too sad.

Tracklist for Wendy’s Wintry Mix:

  1. Sixx:Am (Nikki Sixx) – Xmas in Hell
  2. Merle Haggard – If We Make It Through December
  3. Fountains of Wayne – Valley Winter Song
  4. Johnny & Tommy Cash – That Christmasy Feeling
  5. The Choir – It’s Cold Outside
  6. The Sonics – Santa Claus
  7. Marvin Gaye – Purple Snowflakes
  8. Love Unlimited – It May Be Winter Outside (But In My Heart It’s Spring)
  9. Stevie Wonder – Everyone’s a Kid at Christmas Time
  10. Roberta Flack – 25th of December
  11. Dusty Springfield – In the Winter
  12. Diana Ross & The Supremes – Just a Lonely Christmas
  13. Badly Drawn Boy – Donna and Blitzen
  14. Sufjan Stevens – Did I Make You Cry On Christmas? (Well, You Deserved It)
  15. Belle & Sebastian – Winter Wooskie
  16. Of Montreal – Wraith Pinned to the Mist and Other Games
  17. Great Northern – Winter
  18. The Gris Gris – Winter Weather
  19. The Finches – Holiday Song
  20. Warm Wires – Christmas in Vermont
  21. Julie London – Warm December
  22. Nico – Winter Song
  23. Regina Spektor – December
  24. Thomas & Richard Frost – December Rain, April Laughter
  25. Ozzy Osbourne & Jessica Simpson – Walking in a Winter Wonderland
  26. Nancy Wilson – What Are You Doing on New Year’s Eve
Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

